A failure to imagine? Artistic expression and climate change

The mind works in mysterious ways.  As soon as I starting thinking about a topic and then I do a blog post about it, all of a sudden I see many examples of what i was pointing out in my blog post.  Of course in my blog post I was pointing out a lack of examples of artistic expression and climate change and now I am seeing them everywhere. Here is my first blog about a failure to imagine as part of the barrier to getting to a low carbon future.

As you can see at the bottom of the post and in some comments that I have added, I have found some people doing exactly what I was talking about re art and climate change.

Here is another one , a post from grist – an online magazine that discusses all things environmental with a focus on climate change.  In this case, it is an interview with Mary Iverson and her move from her traditional landscapes to starting to incorporate a dimension of climate change – re rising seas and a the expansion of the economy and trade via shipping containers.

Here is one image of one of her paintings from her website.

Mary_Iverson_Glacier_12x12_collage_2014_sm.jpg

And speaking of grist, about a month after I first posted this, they published another article about stories about climate change being collected by medium.  Check them out here.  Based on all of this evidence, it looks like artistic expression is starting to address and think about climate change.

I will read some of these stories and maybe do some book / story reviews.  I am interested to see if there are any stories of a positive future or if they are all negative, fear based stories.

Happy reading

One thought on “A failure to imagine? Artistic expression and climate change

Leave a comment